CONTACT CONGRESS: Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Hitting Brick Wall In Democratic-led House

In recent weeks, Albany Update has reported on the U.S. Senate’s efforts to pass the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act (BAASPA). Similar efforts are underway in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Click here to take action

BAASPA would require that a child born alive in an abortion clinic be brought to a hospital, would create penalties for the intentional killing of a newborn, would punish abortionists who fail to provide medical care to infants born alive following abortions, and would allow women to sue to enforce its provisions.

According to National Review, since the House version of BAASPA (H.R. 962, sponsored by Republican Rep. Ann Wagner of Missouri) was introduced in February, “House Republicans have taken to the floor for 25 consecutive legislative days to call for unanimous consent to debate and vote on the bill. They were blocked each time by Democratic leadership.” In response, House Minority Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA) filed a discharge petition on April 2, 2019. A discharge petition is an attempt to force a vote on a bill despite the opposition of House leadership. If a majority of House members sign Rep. Scalise’s discharge petition, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi will not be able to prevent the bill from receiving a vote.

According to Concerned Women for America (CWA), 199 members of the House had signed Rep. Scalise’s discharge petition as of April 9, 2019. This means that only 19 more signatures are needed to force a vote on this life-saving bill. (Please note that more signatures may have been added to the petition since April 9; to view CWA’s current list, click here.)

Six Republican members of New York’s congressional delegation have signed the discharge petition. They are:

  • Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY27);
  • Rep. John Katko (R-NY24);
  • Rep. Pete King (R-NY2);
  • Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY23);
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY21); and
  • Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY1).

To date, no Democratic members of New York’s congressional delegation have signed the discharge petition. New York’s Democratic members of the House are:

  • Rep. Tom Suozzi (D-NY3)
  • Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY4)
  • Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY5)
  • Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY6)
  • Rep. Nydia Velázquez (D-NY7)
  • Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY8)
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY9)
  • Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY10)
  • Rep. Max Rose (D-NY11)
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY12)
  • Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY13)
  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio Cortez (D-NY14)
  • Rep. José Serrano (D-NY15)
  • Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY16)
  • Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY17)
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY18)
  • Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-NY19)
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY20)
  • Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D-NY22)
  • Rep. Joe Morelle (D-NY25)
  • Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY26)

Please contact your Member of Congress today. Let them know that babies who survive abortions need our support!

Click here to take action